The 59 Best Individual NFL Seasons in the Last 25 Years

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow

Players With an AV of 20

There are a total of 19 players making up 21 seasons who have produced a single season worth an AV of 20.

Emmitt SmithCowboys1992Ray LewisRavens2003
Emmitt SmithCowboys1993Ahman GreenPackers2003
Jerry Rice49ers1993Daunte CulpepperVikings2004
Barry SandersLions1994Peyton ManningColts2006
Emmitt SmithCowboys1995Randy MossPatriots2007
Marvin HarrisonColts1999Arian FosterTexans2010
Randall GodfreyTitans2000Patrick PetersonCardinals2011
Jeff Garcia49ers2000Drew BreesSaints2011
Rich GannonRaiders2000Cam NewtonPanthers2015
Kurt WarnerRams2001Aaron DonaldRams2015
Jimmy SmithJaguars2001

Of this group, seven are quarterbacks, four are running backs, four are wideouts and four are defenders. Among those are all-time greats Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice and Barry Sanders.

The long-time Cowboys running back had an AV of 20 in three seasons, and in those he ran for an average of 1,657.3 yards, 17.3 touchdowns and 4.4 yards per carry. Each of those three seasons resulted in Super Bowl wins for the Cowboys.

As for Rice, in his '93 campaign, he caught 64.1% of his targets with 98 catches, 1,503 yards and 15 scores. For that, he was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Sanders, on 331 rushes, accounted for 1,883 yards and 7 touchdowns. He also caught 44 balls for another score, totaling 2,166 yards on the year, on his way to Offensive Player of the Year honors.